Preserving a Unique Historical Building for Future Generations
We are a non-profit, volunteer and family run organisation working to maintain Thorrington Tide Mill for future generations to enjoy
About Thorrington Tide Mill
Although the present mill was built in 1831, there has been a mill at the head of Alresford Creek since the 17th century. The present mill on the dam is a tall three-storeyed timber-framed building. Its white-painted weatherboarding is typical of Essex mill buildings.
On an incoming tide, a sluice – a water channel controlled by a gate – opens in the dam, allowing the mill pool to fill. On the ebb tide, the stored water is released by another sluice, driving the waterwheel. Through a series of mechanical gears, the waterwheel rotates the millstones, which grind corn fed into a central hole.
Corn was brought to the mill and placed directly under the lucam – projecting structure with a doorway on the third storey – in sacks on a cart, then lifted to the top floor by a sack hoist, also powered by the waterwheel.
Thorrington Mill is recorded as having had very high-quality millstones, imported from France, which would have produced the finest grade white flour. Although much of the mill’s flour may have been used locally, small vessels such as barges could dock at the landing place next to the mill to take goods for export. The mill continued working until 1926.
You can read a full history of the mill here.
How You Can Help
As a non-profit organisation we rely on donations and grants to pay for the upkeep of the mill so future generations can continue to enjoy its unique history and location. We are currently crowdfunding at https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/thorrington-tide-mill
Become a Volunteer
You can get involved today by becoming a volunteer and helping maintain and open the mill for visitors.
How and When to Find Us
Brightlingsea Road, Thorrington, Essex, CO7 8JL
A small car park only available on mill open days
No toilet facilities are available
The mill is normally open seven times a year from April to October. Unfortunately, we can not currently confirm 2020 opening days due to the current COVID-19 outbreak and resulting restrictions.
Guided tours are available by donation on open days, giving visitors a vivid account of the mill’s operation and its importance in the local area.
Messages From the Mill
- A History of Thorrington Tide MillThere was a mill at Thorrington at the time of Domesday Book when the area was included as part of the lands owned by Odo, the Bishop of Bayeux, and half-brother to William the Conqueror, in the Hundred of Tendring: Æthelstan held Thorrington as one manor and as four hides. Now Ralph FitzTurold holds itContinue reading “A History of Thorrington Tide Mill”
- Thorrington Tide Mill OwnershipIn 2019, there was a change of ownership with Thorrington Tide Mill once again becoming part of the family run Mill Farm.
Become a Volunteer
A team of passionate local volunteers ensure that the mill is opened for visitors to enjoy. Please contact us for more info.
Useful links and further reading
Photographs by Roger W Haworth and Ashley Dace, used under Creative Commons.